OSU MFA Hosting First Alumni Book Fair and Festival, September 14–16, 2012

September 10, 2012

The OSU MFA is hosting its first Alumni Book Fair and Festival, sponsored by the MFA Program in Creative Writing, the Office of the President, and the Ohio State University Libraries. Seven OSU writers with new books will be present, as well as other alumni with recent publications. Events will begin Friday at 2:30pm and will run through 6:00pm on Sunday in Thompson Library and the OSU Bookstore/ Barnes and Noble. All events are free to the public.

For more information, visit the Alumni Book Fair and Festival page of the Creative Writing Program.



We are proud to "bring home" seven OSU writers with new books this year:

Christopher Coake ('04), You Came Back   
Michael Kardos ('03), The Three-Day Affair  
Joe Oestreich ('07), Hitless Wonder: A Life in Minor League Rock and Roll 
Catherine Pierce ('03), The Girls of Peculiar 
Letitia Trent ('07), One Perfect Bird 
Claire Vaye Watkins ('11), Battleborn
Betsy Wheeler ('05), Loud Dreaming in a Quiet Room

We are also happy to be bringing home to OSU several other alumni with recent and forthcoming books who will participate on panels: Donald Ray Pollock's ('09) The Devil All the Time (2011) is newly out in paperback; his first book, Knockemstiff, won the PEN/Robert Bingham Prize for a first work of fiction. Natalie Shapero ('08) is the author of the forthcoming No Object. She is the 2012-2014 Kenyon Review Fellow at Kenyon College.  Ida Stewart ('08) is the author of Gloss, winner of the 2011 Perugia Press Prize for a first or second book of poetry by a woman. She is a PhD student in creative writing at The University of Georgia and co-editor of Unsplendid.