Edward Haworth Hoeppner winner of the 2011 Charles B. Wheeler Prize for “Blood Prism”

January 18, 2011

The Ohio State University Press and The Journal are delighted to announce that Edward Haworth Hoeppner has been selected as this year’s winner of The Charles B. Wheeler Prize for his poetry collection, Blood Prism. The OSU Press will publish Blood Prism in Autumn 2011. 

Ed Haworth Hoeppner has published widely in a variety of journals, including Boulevard, Colorado Review, Crazyhorse, Denver Quarterly,Indiana Review, The Journal, Prairie Schooner, Shenandoah and Willow Springs. He is the author of two previous collections of poetry, Rain through High Windows and Ancestral Radio, and a critical study: Echoes and Moving Fields: Structure and Subjectivity in the Poetry of W. S. Merwin and John Ashbery. He received a Ph.D. in Modern Letters from the University of Iowa; he teaches literature and creative writing at Oakland University in Rochester, Michigan. 

Blood Prism is the 24th volume of exceptional poetry to be selected for publication by a readers’ committee of OSU poets on behalf of The Ohio State University Press and The Journal, the literary magazine of The Ohio State University. In addition to publication, the award carries with it a cash prize of $3,000, thanks to the generosity of the family of the late Charles B. Wheeler, Professor Emeritus of the English Department. 

Over 600 manuscripts were submitted for this year’s competition, and we would like to thank everyone who participated. The quality of this year’s submissions was extremely high, and the screeners worked hard and with considerable pleasure. Kathy Fagan was the final judge. See The Ohio State University Press website for further information about The Ohio State University Press/The Journal Award and The Charles B. Wheeler Prize, or contact The Poetry Editor, The Ohio State University Press, 180 Pressey Hall, 1070 Carmack Road, Columbus OH 43210-1002.