The David O. Frantz Thesis Award

Named in honor of Ohio State Emeritus English Professor David Frantz, this annual award recognizes the most outstanding thesis completed by an English major during the previous three semesters. The writer of the winning thesis is recognized at the English Department’s annual awards ceremony in April and receives $500.

Selection Process
We collect copies of all theses written by English majors during the previous three semesters. These copies are typically retrieved from the university's Knowledge Bank and forwarded to the Director of Undergraduate Studies. Current members of the department's Undergraduate Studies Committee will be assigned to serve on the Frantz Award subcommittee by the Director of Undergraduate Studies. The subcommittee will review all theses and determine a winner. 

Recognition of Winners
The winning thesis writer is invited to receive the Frantz Award at the department's annual awards ceremony in April.