### The Ohio State University Department of English

# 2019 Creative Writing Awards

## Awards for Undergraduate Students

THE REBA ELAINE PEARL BURKHARDT ROORBACH AWARD IN CREATIVE NONFICTION - \$100 for the best essay or nonfiction chapter by an undergraduate Judged by: Bill Roorbach

WINNER: Gwynnie Ball "Romeo, Romeo" Honorable Mention: Brendan Walsh "Liberty Park"

THE JACOBSON SHORT STORY AWARD - 1st place \$600; 2nd place \$300; 3rd place \$150 for the best story by an undergraduate

Judged by: Katherine Zlabek

1st PLACE: John Kirian "Snowfall"

2nd PLACE: Austin Dunn "Beautiful Figures"

3rd PLACE: Madeleine Haas "A Woman Who Looks Normal"

Honorable Mentions: Jay Beavers "The Art of Squatting"; Whitney Kneffler "Brilliant"

THE GERTRUDE LUCILLE ROBINSON AWARD - 1st place \$750; 2nd place \$350; 3rd place \$200 for the best piece of creative writing (any genre) by an undergraduate woman Judged by: Kathryn Nuernberger

1st PLACE: Natalie Dalea "Pa' Antonio"

2nd PLACE: Grace Day-Strosnider "A Sonnet in Which a Girl is Taken"

3rd PLACE: Kassidy Jones "An Intuitive Grasp of Reality"

**THE CITINO UNDERGRADUATE POETRY AWARD - \$1,500** for the best group of poems, not to exceed 10 single-spaced pages, by any OSU English major **Judged by: Andy Grace** 

WINNER: Brendan Walsh "A Denizen in Me"

Honorable Mention: Kendall Lindstrom "Flower Shop & Other Memories"

#### Award for Undergraduate and Graduate Students

THE ACADEMY OF AMERICAN POETS AWARD (THE ARTHUR RENSE PRIZE) - \$400 for the best poem or group of no more than three poems (open to graduate and undergraduate students)

Judged by: Susannah Nevison

WINNER: Mags Colvett "A Ghost Story"

Honorable Mentions: Emmalee Hagarman "This Time of Night"; Molly Ortiz "Old

Growth"



### The Ohio State University Department of English

## 2019 Creative Writing Awards

#### Awards for Graduate Students

THE HAIDEE FORSYTH BURKHARDT AWARD IN CREATIVE NONFICTION - \$100 for the

best essay or nonfiction book chapter by a graduate student

Judged by: Bill Roorbach

WINNER: Robert Schumaker "Self-Portrait with Smudged Makeup"

Honorable Mention: Sahra Ahmed "American Makeup"

THE TARA M. KROGER AWARD - \$1,000 for the best short story by a student in the MFA

Program in Creative Writing Judged by: Gabriel Urza

WINNER: Krishna Mishra "Away from Home"

Honorable Mentions: Scott Broker "Marco Polo"; Meagan McAlister "Inland"

THE VANDEWATER POETRY AWARD - \$1,000 for the best poem or group of no more than

three poems by a graduate student

Judged by: Christopher Kempf

WINNER: Alyssa Froehling "First Love", "Estuary", "The Hermit" Honorable Mentions: Emmalee Hagarman "Blood Moon", "Self-Portrait with Summer Storm and Blood", "Measure"; Zoe Mays "This Year", "Carrie Nation", "My

Woman"

#### THE HELEN EARNHART HARLEY CREATIVE WRITING FELLOWSHIP AWARD IN

**PROSE - \$1,000** for the best body of fiction or nonfiction (multiple stories or essays, or an excerpt of a book-length work -- totaling at least 40 pages and not to exceed 70 pages) by a student in the MFA Program in Creative Writing

Judged by: Jon Chopan

WINNER: Scott Broker "The Arrivals"

Honorable Mentions: Kelsey Hagarman "Non-Vital and Other Essays"; Steffan

Hruby "The Universal Hologram"; Julie Garbuz "Collected Essays"

#### THE HELEN EARNHART HARLEY CREATIVE WRITING FELLOWSHIP AWARD IN

**POETRY - \$1,000** for the best body of poetry (of at least 20 pages and not to exceed 30 pages) by a student in the MFA Program in Creative Writing

Judged by: Richie Hofmann

WINNER: Molly Ortiz "On Whether the Ocean Will Want Us Back"

Honorable Mention: Molly Brown "The Illustrated Catalogue of Fishes and Other

Poems"

