Alumna Laila Ujayli selected as Rhodes Scholar

January 22, 2019
Laila Ujayli

By Avery Samuels

This beginning feels familiar.

Those of us who are bibliophiles have likely encountered a book about a protagonist who, like us, loves, loves, loves to read. It’s only natural to read about readers, and to write books about bibliophiles. We often write what we know and who we know, as well as who we are—we readers can understand and relate to Elizabeth Bennet, Hermione Granger, Matilda, Anne Shirley, Jo March.

Higginbotham wins Sixteenth Century Literature Prize

January 22, 2019
Jennifer Higginbotham

By Avery Samuels

There are very few children in Shakespeare’s work. Excluding the occasional infant, and capping the age at tween—thereby excusing Romeo and Juliet and their teenage peers—there are only a handful of actual children. And even when children are included, their roles are often cut for the sake of conciseness. So what is the point of including them in the first place? Jennifer Higginbotham, an associate professor who specializes in Renaissance and early modern women’s literature within the English department, was plagued by this question as she wrapped up her 2013 book about young girls in Renaissance drama, The Girlhood of Shakespeare’s Sisters.

Washuta earns Creative Capital Award

January 22, 2019
Elissa Washuta

By Avery Samuels

Assistant Professor of Creative Writing Elissa Washuta has been announced as a recipient of a 2019 Creative Capital Award for a brave personal project that is forthcoming this year. Creative Capital’s website describes the collection, titled White Magic, as “a personal essay collection about heartbreak, sexual violation, and the artist’s process of becoming a powerful witch. Surrounded by cheap facsimiles of Native spiritual tools and occult trends, Elissa Washuta learns to embrace the spirit powers and desperation witchery of her dispossessed and discarded Cowlitz, Cascade, and Appalachian ancestors.”

Knapper and Miller awarded Presidential Fellowships

January 22, 2019
Block O

This past autumn, English graduate students Dan Knapper and Rachel Miller were each awarded a Presidential Fellowship, the most prestigious award given by Ohio State’s Graduate School. Recipients of this award embody the highest standards of scholarship in the full range of Ohio State's graduate programs.

Jared Gardner named Joseph V. Denney Designated Professor of English

November 26, 2018
Jared Gardner

Jared Gardner has been announced as the Joseph V. Denney Designated Professor of English. This is the first designated professorship to be established in the College of Arts and Sciences. This professorship was funded by anonymous donors. Gardner will hold the title for five years. After this time has passed, the honor will be endowed to another professor in English.