The OSU Prize in Short Fiction

This prize has been reimagined as The Non/Fiction Collection Prize.

The Ohio State University Short Fiction Prize was an annual award given to a manuscript collection of short fiction. Graduate students helped with screening of the manuscripts, and a judge made the final selection.  The winning authors received publication under a standard book contract that included a cash prize of $1,500.00 as an advance against royalties.

Previous winners are:

2013 - Elizabeth Eslami, Hibernate
2012 - Cary Holladay, The Deer in the Mirror
2011 - Geoff Wyss, How
2010 - Diane Simmons, Little America
2009 - Matt Debenham, The Book of Right and Wrong
2008 - Paul Eggers, The Departure Lounge
2007 - Ric Jahna, True Kin
2006 - Morgan McDermott, Owner’s Manual  (prize declined)
2005 - J. David Stevens, Mexico Is Missing: And Other Stories
2004 - Scott Kaukonen, Ordination
2003 - Gerald Shapiro, Little Men: Novellas and Stories
2002 - Trudy Lewis, The Bones of Garbo
2001 - William J. Cobb, The White Tattoo
2000 - Wendy Rawlings, Come Back Irish
1999 - Molly Best Tinsley, Throwing Knives
1998 - Steven Polansky, Dating Miss Universe
1997 - John Clayton, Radiance: Ten Stories

The 2013 OSU Short Fiction Prize

Elizabeth Eslami


Elizabeth Eslami.The Ohio State University Press and The Ohio State University Creative Writing Program are delighted to announce that Elizabeth Eslami has been selected as this year’s winner of The OSU Press/The Ohio State University Prize in Short Fiction for her collection, Hibernate.  The OSU Press published Hibernate in the summer of 2013.

Elizabeth Eslami is a graduate of Sarah Lawrence College and the Warren Wilson MFA Program for Writers. She is the author of the novel Bone Worship (Pegasus, 2010).  Her essays, short stories, and travel writing have appeared most recently in The Rumpus, The Literary Review, Michigan Quarterly Review and The Sun, and her work is featured in the anthologies Tremors: New Fiction By Iranian American Writers and Writing Off Script: Writers on the Influence of Cinema. She currently teaches in the MFA Program at Manhattanville College.

Hibernate is the sixteenth volume of exceptional prose to be selected for publication by a readers’ committee of OSU writers on behalf of The Ohio State University Press and the Ohio State University Creative Writing Program.  In addition to publication, the award carries with it a cash prize of $ 1,500.

Over 260 manuscripts were submitted for this year’s competition, and we would like to thank everyone who participated.  The quality of this year’s submissions was extremely high, and the screeners worked hard and with considerable pleasure.  For further information about The Ohio State University Press/The Ohio State University Prize in Short Fiction, contact:

Fiction Editor
The Ohio State University Press
180 Pressey Hall
1070 Carmack Road
Columbus, OH 43210-1002