2013 OSU Creative Writing Awards

ALL ENTRIES WERE SUBMITTED ANONYMOUSLY TO EACH CONTEST JUDGE.

Awards to be presented at the Department of English Awards Ceremony Tuesday, April 23, 2013

4:00 p.m. Cocktail hour, 5:30-7:00 p.m. ceremony

Longaberger Alumni House

Everyone is invited and should come to support ALL of our excellent writers! MUST RSVP by APRIL 16, 2013 to parkins.18@osu.edu

THE REBA ELAINE PEARL BURKHARDT ROORBACH AWARD IN CREATIVE NONFICTION—\$50

For best essay or nonfiction book chapter by an undergraduate.

(JUDGE: BILL ROORBACH)

WINNER: JOSHUA KLEINBERG

RUNNER UP: PATRICK NORRIS

Honorable Mention: ROGER GROSSWILER, JOHN WALGAMUTH, and ALEXANDRA GRESE

THE IACOBSON SHORT STORY AWARD—\$250

For the best short story by an undergraduate.

(JUDGE: MARGOT LIVESEY)
WINNER: ALYSSA TORTORETE

THE GERTRUDE LUCILLE ROBINSON AWARD—\$250

For the best piece of creative writing (any genre) by an undergraduate woman.

(JUDGE: NATALIE SHAPERO)

WINNER: ALYSSA TORTORETE

Honorable Mention: COURTNEY COFFMAN

THE CITINO UNDERGRADUATE POETRY AWARD—\$1,700

For the best group of poems, not to exceed 10 single-spaced pages, by an OSU Senior English major.

(JUDGE: ROSANNA WARREN)

WINNER: CHRISTOPHER BLACKMAN

THE VANDEWATER POETRY AWARD—\$250

For the best poem or group of poems. Open to graduate and undergraduate students.

(JUDGE: LUCIE BROCK-BROIDO)

WINNER: LAUREN COOK

Honorable Mention: MEGAN PEAK and MATT SUMPTER

THE ACADEMY OF AMERICAN POETS AWARD—\$400

(THE ARTHUR RENSE PRIZE)

For the best poem or group of poems. Open to graduate and undergraduate students.

(JUDGE: D.A. POWELL)

WINNER: JOSHUA KLEINBERG

Honorable Mention: CODY TROYAN and SHELLEY WONG

THE HAIDEE FORSYTH BURKHARDT AWARD IN CREATIVE NONFICTION—\$50

For best essay or nonfiction book chapter by a graduate student.

(JUDGE: BILL ROORBACH)
WINNER: ELIZABETH ZALESKI

THE TARA M. KROGER AWARD—\$550

For the best short story by an MFA student.

(JUDGE: HOLLY GODDARD-JONES)

WINNER: NICK WHITE

Honorable Mention: NANCY DINAN and BRETT BEACH

THE HELEN EARNHART HARLEY CREATIVE WRITING FELLOWSHIP AWARD IN FICTION \$1,000

For the best body of fiction (multiple stories or an excerpt of a novel of at least 40 pages and not to exceed 70

pages) by a graduate student. (JUDGE: ADAM BRAVER) WINNER: BRETT BEACH

Honorable Mention: NANCY DINAN

THE HELEN EARNHART HARLEY CREATIVE WRITING FELLOWSHIP AWARD IN POETRY \$1,000

For the best body of poetry (of at least 20 pages and not to exceed 30 pages) by a graduate student.

(JUDGE: EAVAN BOLAND)

WINNER: ALEX FABRIZIO

Honorable Mention: JENNA KILIC

THE HELEN EARNHART HARLEY CREATIVE WRITING FELLOWSHIP AWARD IN CREATIVE NONFICTION \$1,000

For the best body of nonfiction (multiple essays or an excerpt of a book-length work of at least 40 pages and not to exceed 70 pages) by a graduate student.

(JUDGE: DOUG BAUER) WINNER: SILAS HANSEN

Honorable Mention: KATHLEEN BLACKBURN